Critérium du Dauphine 2016 route revealed with mountain prologue to start

A mountain time trial to Les Gets gets a mountainous edition of the Crit rium du Dauphin , with three summit finishes to end the race

Critérium Du Dauphine 2016 Route Revealed With Mountain Prologue To Start

Team Sky leads on stage five of the 2015 Dauphine-LIbere

The big names present at the Crit rium du Dauphin 1 will not get an easy introduction to the race with a mountain time trial to Les Gets scheduled for the prologue. A 3.9km climb at 9.7 per cent is what will great the riders on the first day of the race an introduction to a mountainous route in the Dauphin region. The sprinters will have their fun on stage one in the rolling run between Cluses and Saint-Vulbas, but the climbers will be back in the hunt on stage two.

An uphill finish to Chalmazel-Jeansagni re a 6.8km climb at just under four per cent is likely to see the challengers for the overall title go head to head for the win.

>>> Wildcard teams announced for 2016 Crit rium du Dauphin and Paris-Nice2

A mountain-heavy end to the race sees three consecutive summit finishes, starting with a finale in Vaujany on stage five, followed by a trip up to Meribel via the Col de la Madeleine the following day. The final day sees six categorised climbs, with a the finish line in Superd voluy the possible battleground for the overall title. Many of the Tour de France favourites are likely to include the Dauphin in their schedule, including Chris Froome3, Alberto Contador, Fabio Aru4 and Tejay van Garderen.

Criterium du Dauphine 2016 route: June 5-12
Prologue: Les Gets, 3.9 km (ITT)
Stage 1: Cluses > Saint-Vulbas, 186 km
Stage 2: Cr ches-sur-Sa ne > Chalmazel-Jeansagni re, 167.5 km
Stage 3: Bo n-sur-Lignon > Tournon-sur-Rh ne, 182 km
Stage 4: Tain-l Hermitage > Belley, 176 km
Stage 5: La Ravoire > Vaujany, 140 km
Stage 6: La Rochette > M ribel, 141 km
Stage 7: Le-Pont-de-Claix > Superd voluy, 151 km


  1. ^ Crit rium du Dauphin (
  2. ^ >>> Wildcard teams announced for 2016 Crit rium du Dauphin and Paris-Nice (
  3. ^ Chris Froome (
  4. ^ Fabio Aru (

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *