Chris Froome wins Critérium du Dauphiné as Cummings takes long solo stage win

Steve Cummings’s long solo ride gives him his third WorldTour win of the year at the Crit rium du Dauphin as Chris Froome seals to overall title

Chris Froome Wins Critérium Du Dauphiné As Cummings Takes Long Solo Stage Win

Steve Cummings (Dimension Data1) added another sensational win to his palmares with a lengthy solo attack to win stage seven of the Crit rium du Dauphin 2 as Team Sky and Chris Froome3 secured another overall win. Cummings went off the front of the breakaway with over 40km to go on the mountainous stage and powered away as the general classification battle raged behind him. Despite attacks from Alberto Contador4 (Tinkoff) and Romain Bardet (Ag2r5 La Mondiale), Froome neutralised them all and spun his way up the final climb to take his third title in four years.

Contador tried his luck from 13km out on the steepest part of the climb of the Col de Noyer. The Spaniard s acceleration saw white jersey holder Julian Alaphilippe (Etixx-Quick Step6) distanced, but Froome, Richie Porte (BMC) and Bardet tried to stay with him.

Chris Froome Wins Critérium Du Dauphiné As Cummings Takes Long Solo Stage Win

Stephen Cummings wins Stage 7 of the 2016 Dauphine Libere

Dan Martin7 (Etixx-Quick Step) was distanced by the group of four, with the Irishman churning away behind to make up the 100m gap before the top of the climb. Cummings, meanwhile, hit the descent with more than a three-minute advantage, bombing down to the foot of the final climb to Superd voluy. Bardet then turned on the pace to reach the summit ahead of his three companions, with Martin working hard to ensure his gap didn t exceed 20 seconds. He was joined on the descent by Diego Rosa (Astana8), Adam Yates (Orica-GreenEdge9) and Louis Meintjes (Lampre-Merida).

Chris Froome Wins Critérium Du Dauphiné As Cummings Takes Long Solo Stage Win

Bardet attacked again on a slightly uphill section of the descent, but he was soon neutralised as the Martin group came back into the equation and the foot of the final climb. Sky trio Sergio Henao, Wout Poels and Mikel Landa sped down the descent to join up with Froome s lead group, giving the British squad by far the most cards to play to defend the yellow jersey. As soon as the Sky riders hit the front, the pace dropped and allowed Cummings s advantage to stretch back out to over four minutes, all but guaranteeing his remarkable stage win.

The Wirral rider sealed the latest barnstorming win of his season10 with relative ease in the end, allowing himself a few smiles as he rolled through the final kilometre. Four minutes later, Martin launched his attack in the final kilometre to pick up six bonus seconds for finishing second, followed over the line by Bardet. Bardet knocked Porte out of second place in the leaderboard by finishing third as Froome accidentally boxed the Australian in on the barriers and Martin s bonus seconds saw him also leapfrog the BMC11 rider into third place.

Froome rolled over the line in the same group to seal his third overall win in the space of four years. For Team Sky12 it is now five wins in the past six years, following Sir Bradley Wiggins13 s wins in 2011 and 2012. Polka dot jersey wearer Thibaut Pinot (FDJ14) paid the price for his efforts to win stage six, dropping off the back of the peloton as Tony Martin (Etixx-Quick Step) drove an incredibly high pace.

His demise handed Daniel Teklehaimanot (Dimension Data) his second successive mountains classification15 victory at the Dauphin having got himself into the early breakaway.


Crit rium du Dauphin stage seven, Le Pont-de-Claix Superd voluy (151km)

1. Steve Cummings (GBr) Dimension Data, 4-05-06
2. Dan Martin (Irl) Etixx-Quick Step, at 3-58
3. Romain Bardet (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale, st
4. Wout Poels (Ned) Team Sky, st
5. Adam Yates (GBr), Orica-GreenEdge, st
6. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Etixx-Quick Step, st
7. Diego Rosa (Ita) Astana, st
8. Louis Meintjes (RSA) Lampre-Merida, at 4-01

Richie Porte (Aus) BMC, at 4-05
10. Chris Froome (GBr) Team Sky, at 4-05

Chris Froome Wins Critérium Du Dauphiné As Cummings Takes Long Solo Stage Win

Chris Froome finishes Stage 7 and wins the 2016 Dauphine Libere

Final general classification

1. Chris Froome (GBr) Team Sky, 29-59-31
2. Romain Bardet (Fra) Ag2r La Mondiale, at 12s
3. Dan Martin (Irl) Etixx-Quick Step, at 19s
4. Richie Porte (Aus) BMC, at 21s
5. Alberto Contador (Esp) Tinkoff, at 35s
6. Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Etixx-Quick Step, at 51s
7. Adam Yates (GBr), Orica-GreenEdge, at 57s

Diego Rosa (Ita) Astana, at 1-13

Louis Meintjes (RSA) Lampre-Merida, at 1-30

Pierre Rolland (Fra) Cannondale, at 2-43


  1. ^ Dimension Data (
  2. ^ Crit rium du Dauphin (
  3. ^ Chris Froome (
  4. ^ Alberto Contador (
  5. ^ Ag2r (
  6. ^ Etixx-Quick Step (
  7. ^ Dan Martin (
  8. ^ Astana (
  9. ^ Orica-GreenEdge (
  10. ^ sealed the latest barnstorming win of his season (
  11. ^ BMC (
  12. ^ Team Sky (
  13. ^ Bradley Wiggins (
  14. ^ FDJ (
  15. ^ second successive mountains classification (

You may also like...